roof antenna

2006/0829

 

I got an e-mail from KI4HEX, Tom about my roof that I am using a stand-by antenna primarily for winter time when I have a problem on my regular antenna.

I show my response to him below.

 

 

 

 

 

2006/08/02

KI4HEX  Tom

 

 

 

Re:  Roof antenna

construction: My roof is constructed with many aluminum sheets, 1ft x 1ft, interlocked, covering whole roof.  The picture is shown in my webpage.

Connecting :  I use coax cable, RG-58, connecting the center copper cable to the roof with a brass screw fastened to the roof and needs water-proof.  The outer stranded copper wire is grounded with a piece wire extended from the wire at the roof level down to the ground level to the grounding rod.  I use a grounding rod, 3ft long, from Radio Shack.  My area is next to the Lake Huron and the ground is wet and effective grounding.   (You may use a ladder line also, instead of the coax cable.)

 

Character: It is a great stand-by or emergency antenna.  I used this as my usual antenna for one winter before I put up a loop wire antenna.  I still use this antenna for a fun of it and winter stand-by antenna. I have had DX to Africa and Europe and I use it for QRP too.  It tends to pick up noise.   It takes all HF band (including 160m) with a tuner and without tuner it takes 6m, 2m, and 440 because I do not have a tuner for those.

It can be used when it is rain and snow up to 6 inches on the roof but exceeding 6 inches I noticed less signal going out.

 

Side effect:  corrosion may be taken place but not significant.  I have been using this roof as an antenna for about 5 years and the roof is about ten years old.  I guess the interlocking portion may generate some kind of corrosion because I noticed the tuning on 160m band gives me a bit slow process but there is no problem for tuning for the rest of HF bands.

Heating up at feed line connecting point is never noticed.  In fact I never thought about it so at this stage I guess nothing is happening.

No one (no neighbor) knows that I am using my roof as an antenna, perhaps only a few hams in the world exist that the roof is used an antenna.  The roof can be used as some kind of counterpoise but this is not my case.

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to roof antenna

  1. Unknown says:

    A friend to buy wow goldTo wow power leveling?On the world\’s most concessions to the most reputable sites under the single!

  2. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCD monitors, second hand lcd monitors and second hand flat screens? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels,LCD recycle.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[gjcbecahgaeidc]

  3. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCDs, second hand LCDs, used flat screens and used LCD monitors? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels and working for LCD recycling.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[acbgb

Leave a Reply

