Re-Cap for SC-40B

2006/09/09

 

Re-Cap for SC-40B

 

My summer in Canada is from May to August and the winter starts from September to April.  I set up winter projects every year for homebrewing QRPs and antennas. 

 

My first winter project this winter is to re-cap (replacing old capacitors and installing new ones) on my Hallicrafters SC-40B (Canadian assembled) equivalent to S-40B in U.S. model so that the frequency drifting does not occur for receiving signals.

 

Result:  The frequency drifting has been greatly improved from 15 khz to 1 khz or so during QSO.  K9FHJ, my mentor Perry, comments that it is normal for a small amount of drifting like 1khz or so on a 50 year old receiver.  It is not annoying for practical use for QSO from my view.

 

My comments:

(1) I noticed a new technology on the capacitors has been recognized in the performance.  The typical size of a capacitor is much smaller and the accuracy of the value on a capacitor is much improved.  I used metalized polyester film capacitors and polystyrene capacitors depending on the value required. 

(2) I left the original electolytic capacitor (can type) on the chassis and re-wired this with three new axial type electolytic capacitors for the filtering on the power supply system.

(3) I recommend get hold of the schematic diagram for this type of work and check it out every capacitor is installed so that the radio works.  It would be really a big problem when all capacitors were replaced, installed and then found not working at the end of the work.

(4) This re-cap project was my first experience for this kind and I found to be fun and I gained a confidence to work on the similar project in the future.   I made some homework learning the suitable type of parts to be used for the replacement. 

(5) The SC-40B does not work on SSB and I like to get a Lafayett HE-80 or HA-230 in the future and do the re-cap again for fun. (I would appreciate if you could donate me a Lafayette HE-80 or HA-230 or equivalent receivers.  E-mail:ve3cgc@cogeco.ca)

73.

 

 

In Japanese:

今年の春に、Hallicrafters SC-40B (AM, CW) 通信用受信機(1950年代カナダ製造)を手に入れました。 目的は手持ちの真空管式送信機とあわせて、QSOするためでした。 1950年代、60年代には、北米に10社以上のメーカーが受信機を製造しておりましたが、1960年、1970年代になってその数が減り、あるいは無くなってしまいました。 KFHJによると、60年代から、日本のメーカーの受信機は北米に、沢山入ってきて(輸入されて)、ついにはアメリカのメーカーが競争に負けてしまい、消えてしまったと聞いています。 コリンズは軍用の通信機を手がけた為、今でも残っていると彼は言っていました。 

 

SC-40B(アメリカ製Hallicrafters S-40Bと同等)は受信時に、周波数が動き、すこしずつ、ずれてゆく状態で、QSOが終わると、10KCから20KCも周波数が上に動き、少し不便を感じていました。 昔のコンデンサーがスイッチを入れ、受信の状態になると、熱の為、容量が変化し、周波数か動くと聞かされました。

 

シャーシーの裏をのぞくと、ワックスを絡めた、熱で少し溶けているコンデンサーが19個使われていました。 私の頭で考えたことは、これらのコンデンサーの容量が50年の時間が経っているのと、使用中に真空管から出る熱の為に、所期の容量が狂っている物と思われ、新しいコンデンサーと交換しようと思いました。 幸い、インターネットにいろいろな情報があり、参考にしました。 まず、どのようなタイプのコンデンサーがこの受信機に適していて、熱による周波数の動きを止められるか、どのような手順で交換するのかを調べました。 その結果(1)metalized polyester film capacitors and polystyrene capacitorsが適している。 (2)交換の手順は、配線図によりコンデンサーを一つずつ交換し、交換後は取り付け位置を確認し、電気を入れ、作動するかを確認する。 決して、一度に全部のコンデンサーを交換しないこと。 (3)1950年代の受信機には電源部にヒューズが取り付けていないので、安全の為取り付けました。 また、電源部の電解コンデンサーは、長年使っているので、容量が減ってることが考えられ、新しい電解コンデンサーを取り付けました。 

 

結果: 以前は、QSO中に15KCくらい動いていて、相手局の信号を追いかけるのが大変でしたが、コンデンサー交換後は1KCくらいしか動かなくなりました。 K9FHJによると、この時代の受信機は、受信周波数が動き、1KCくらい動くのは普通とのこと、そして、私のQSO中では特に気にならないくらいに改善されました。

 

このプロジェクトは、結構面白く、楽しく出来上がり、結果もそれなりに得られました。 つぎは、Lafayette HE80 または HA-230 (どちらも1960年代のトリオ、ケンウッド製)を探してきて、手を入れてみたいと思います。             73.

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

