A 6V6 booster amplifier

2006/10/29

 

Subject: A 6V6 amplifier

 

I up-loaded the Michigan Mighty Mite (MMM) in the spring, 2006.

The condx has been poor this year and I needed a bit more power every once in a while so I decided to make a booster amp for the MMM.

 

The amplifier was completed and I have made the first QSO with KI4GLH on Oct. 9 with the power output of 2 watts.  I was excited for the performance of the amp because I designed this amp, and I built this myself so this amp exists only one in the world.  I am learning radios and anything I try is a kind of trial and error basis, not knowing what will happen, Hi.

 

On this project I tried to use the parts and materials I have on hand as much as I could. I had two 6V6 tubes but during the fabrication, the 6.3v heater on the first 6V6 was broken because the wrong wiring.  The second 6V6 I had which was the last one became a bit malfunctioning because I applied about 400 VDC on the B+ as I wanted and tried to generate the most possible power.  The spec says that the maximum plate voltage should not be exceeded more than 315V. I definitely exceeded Hi. My neighbor ham, Frank, VE3FBH, came to rescue me with two more 6V6.

 

I have made a dozen of QSOs with this amp to date and now I wanted to use 6V6 tube as well as 6L6 as the replacement.  6L6 tube can generate a bit more power and I have three 6L6 on hand.  The base connection of the two tubes are the same except no room in the box I used to place 6L6 instead of 6V6.  6L6 is longer than 6V6. Currently I am relocating parts and doing re-wiring to make more room for 6L6.  This is the revision one on this project.

 

The pictures attached show the revision zero when I completed the amp on Oct. 9th.

 

73

ve3cgc@cogeco.ca

Hiro

 

 

IN JAPANESE.

 

6V6 ブースターアンプ:

 

1石トランジスターQRP送信機、the Michigan Mighty Mite(MMM) ではどうしても力不足と感じるCONDXが時々ありました。 もう少しパワーが欲しく、手持ちのパーツと材料を出来るだけ使って、アンプを10月9日に完成し、初めてのQSOをKI4GLHと

できました。

 

このアンプは配線図を自分で考え、2Wから3Wくらいのパワーを出すアンプで、MMMの400mWではどうしても苦しいCONDXの時に使うつもりです。

 

ケースはデスクトップの電源が収まっていた箱と、6V6真空管を使い、出力2Wが特徴です。  写真を2枚添付しますが、組み立てるのに特に難しいところはありません。  もう少しパワーを出せる6L6はピンの位置も6V6と同じで、差し替え可能ですので、今、改造その1としてソケットの位置を変更しています。  写真は今月始めに出来上がった時の物です。

 

ve3cgc@cogeco.ca

Hiro Hayashi

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A 6V6 booster amplifier

  1. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[dcfdad

  2. Unknown says:

    Key words click link to see (wow power leveling) and (wow gold) the discounted prices!

  3. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, mp4 advertisement players, SD card players and advertisement LCD displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[gjccgfjihhbece]

  4. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCDs, second hand LCDs, used flat screens and used LCD monitors? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels and working for LCD recycling.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[acbhaiabah

Leave a Reply

