Homebrew straight key

2007/01/15

 

Homebrew straight key

 

I came across an interesting article showing a straight key in the QST magazine, September 2006 issue.  It was written by WA7WKX, Steve using a hinge and a cabinet knob.

 

As I go on CW mostly, I decided to try to make one because I did not mind to have homebrew key for everyday QSOs, less expensive and practical project for me.

 

I went to a hardware store and bought the main parts, that are the hinge and the cabinet knob which cost me less than $5.00 including the taxes.  The rest of small parts such as fasteners, a wooden base and piece of wires were found in my junk box.  So practically the key cost me almost nothing.

 

The things I was cautioned about:

(1)  Making the key so that I can use it everyday comfortably.

(2)  Using the materials I have in the junk box as much as I can.

(3)  Nice looking and true key appearance.

(4)  The contact point is durable, not easily rust.

 

So I used:

(A) Stainless steel screws for the contact point.

(B) The wooden base with “Varathane clear finish” sprayed.

(C) The spring with careful adjustments on tension to my best feel.

 

The key was finished on January 11 and I have made my first QSO with KC8MFF.   It did work well and performed the way I expected.   I like this key.  The key is solid and durable.  The spring used is important so that the key satisfies your expectation on the performance.  I tried four different sizes and tensions.  The screw holding the spring can be adjusted carefully to find the tension you want. 

 

Hiro

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese

 

「自作の縦ふりキー」

 

偶然に「QST」マガジンを12冊、20061月から12月までを借りてきました。 9月号に縦ふりのキーを自作する記事があり、戸棚のちょうばんを利用するもので、簡単に作れそうなので町の店でちょうばん(ヒンジ)とつまみを500円で買ってきました。 あとの部品と材料は私のジャンクの箱から探す事にしました。

 

100円ストアで買っておいた板をベースにし、残っていたラッカーを吹き付け、化粧をしました。 キーの接点は使っていても錆びないステンレスのねじがあったので使いました。 小さなねじ類、若干の銅線をみつけて、組み上げました(写真参照)。 QSTの本に出ているものとデザインは同じですが、少し見た感じは違います。  私が注意した点は、毎日使えるしっかりした物、使い心地が私にぴったりした物をめざしました。 特に、スプリングのテンションは、いろいろ試して、入念に調整し、自分の納得がいくように調整しました。

 

111日テストを兼ねて、QSOKC8MFFとでき、使い心地も良く、500円の材料費で出来上がったキーとしては、十分満足が行きました。 このキーの一番のポイントはスプリングの調整でしょう。 スプリング自身も、私の場合は4種類くらい試してみて、テンションは時間をかけて、自分の気に入り所にセットしました。

 

しっかりしていて、結構使えるキーですので、自分で工夫し、自分だけのキーを1台作ってみてください。 

 

 

はやし ひろ

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

