W7GVE

2007/05/01

 

“ W9GVE “

 

My report to W9GVE was RST  599.   

 

He gave me:

His QTH  Golden Valley, AZ.   100 miles south of Las Vegas, Nevada.

Name      Ed

Date and time   Feb. 14, 2007.

Frequency    14.061  Mhz    (My power was 3 watts.)

 

I had a week of trip to Las Vegas, Nevada from Feb. 23 to March 2.  On Feb. 28 (Wed.) I had a bus tour to the Grand Canyon.  When the bus was going south on the Highway 93 approaching to Kingman, the tour guide pointed a small town on the west side of the highway and shouted “ Golden Valley”.  I immediately recognized the name that I had a QSO with W7GVE two weeks prior to the trip.  The town was located in a very different environment and landscape.   It was flat, no high mountains around, dry and nothing but sand and almost no trees.  ( Type in “Golden Valley, AZ.” in Google and read lots information for fun.)

 

When I returned from the trip, I sent my QSL card to him with a memo that I had a lot of fun for a trip to the Grand Canyon and his QTH.  In return, he wrote me a memo with his QSL saying that he was living near Detroit, MI. before moving to Golden Valley, AZ. He had a drive crossing the border into Canada, my QTH area on one weekend.  So he knows my QTH and our district.

 

Take care, Ed, and I am looking forward to having the second QSO and hope one day we will have an eyeball QSO.  73 until then.

 

Hiro ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese:

W7GVE

 

本年214日、20mバンド 3ワットでW7GVE エドとQSOできました。 QTHはアリゾナ州、ラスベガスの南約150キロのゴールデンバレー、私の地図には記されておりませんでした。

 

223日から32日まで、私はラスベガスに遊びに行き、228日水曜日に、バスツアーで有名なグランドキャニオンに行きました。 93号線をバスが南に走っている時、ツアーのガイドの方が、砂漠の中の小さな町を指差して、ゴールデンバレーと教えてくれました。 私はこの時、W7GVEのいる町と気がつきました。 町が、砂漠の中にあり、周りには山も無し、木も殆ど無い平坦な町、私には別世界の町に写りました。 この町のウェブサイトを探して、もっといろいろなことを見てください。 Googleで Golden Valley, AZ. とタイプすると沢山サイトは表示されます、写真もあります。

 

家に帰り、私のQSLカードと手紙を入れてW9GVEに送りましたところ、その返事に彼のカードと手紙が届きました。 エドはゴールデンバレーに引っ越す前は、ミシガン州デトロイトの近くに住み、週末、興味本位で、私の住んでいる町まで、ドライブして来た事があり、私のQTHを良く知っていると書かれてありました。

 

今はコンディションも悪いのですが、20mバンドで3ワットのパワーで約3000km(飛行機で3時間くらい飛んでゆきました)くらい離れたW7GVEとのQSOで、心に残るいい思い出が出来ました。

 

ひろ はやし ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

