Small Wonder Labs SW-40

 

2007/08/01

“Small Wonder Labs  SW-40”

 

I built a kit of the SW-40 which is a QRP CW transceiver on 40 meter band.  It took me about a half year to finish the SW-40.  It is not surprising for taking time this long  because the Michigan Mighty Mite, one transistor QRPp transmitter I built, took me a year to complete. 

 

What I experienced and learnt :

(1)   I checked the all parts when I received the package and made sure no part was missing.  Then I followed the instruction.  The transceiver, when it was built, DID work with the very first time switch on.

(2)   There was some hick ups.  The SW-40 was installed in a small box I had.  When the top cover was closed, it did quit working.  Some wire touched to the ground and shorted out somewhere.  I will be careful next time for the same situation. 

(3)   Checking and checking:  It is important to check the parts twice and three times before doing anything, such as before soldering, picking up a resister and capacitor making sure the values, the location of the parts going in for soldering, the polarity of it.  Check and check, keep checking.  It is the key.

(4)   I became more confident to build solid state projects and I like to develop my skill dealing with solid states and to learn fixing transistor radios eventually.

 

My comments for SW-40:

(A)  The SW-40 has VFO built in and the operation is easy and comfortable to operate it with frequencies from 7.025 mhz to 7.064mhz in my case. 

(B)  It has a three Xtal filter in the audio section, being highly effective to eliminate QRM.

(C)  The power is fixed at 2 watts, not variable while operating and I think this is reasonable power output for QRP transceiver.  Practically I think it is a great rig.

(D)  The price of the kit is reasonable and you will get more than what you paid.

(E)  I e-mailed the supplier for a couple of times during the time I was building and their responses were very fast and satisfactory, normally one day or two.

(F)   The instruction was adequate and easy to follow for building.

 

 My first QSO with this rig was made with “AE8M/9” with RST of 599 and I was very happy, Hi.

 

Hiro Hayashi    ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese

「2 ワット CW QRP, SW-40

 

1月にスモール ワンダー ラブ社(Small Wonder Labs)QRPキットを注文しました。 組み上がって電波を出せたのは5月でした。 しかし、テストを兼ねて、QSO2局とできましたが、私の組み方に少々不都合があり、すぐ「不動品」となり、快適に動くようになったのは7月でした。 以前、1石トランジスターの送信機を作った時は、1年かかりましたので、今回は早く出来上がった方と思っています。 この1石トランジスターの送信機はミシガン マイティー マイトと言われ、私のブログにも写真がありますので、見てください。 とても味のある送信機で時々これでオンエア―しています。

 

キットについて:

(1)       まず受け取った時に説明書の部品表と照らし合わせ、部品を全部確認しました。 トランジスター、一つがどうも違う物と思われたので、送ってもらいました。 すぐ郵送されてきました。

(2)       組み上がってから小さな箱に収めました。 PC基板を箱の中に入れたとき、何かがショートしたようで、リグ全体が動かなくなり、「不動品」となりました HI。 小さな基板など、箱に収める時は、今後不都合が起こらないよう、十分注意しようと思っています。

(3)       キットを組み立て中は、何をするにも、チェック、チェック、確認を2回も3回もして、間違いのないように納得がいくまで行いました。 組みあがってから電気を入れ、すぐ音が聞こえ、送信も出来ました。 確認を繰り返すことはとても大切です。 普通、こんな風にはなかなかいきません HI。 

(4)       いままで、ソリッド ステートの物をあまり組む機会がありませんでした。 SW-40を組み上げてみて自信が出来、使っていてとても気分よくオンエアーできます。 自作のリグの醍醐味が味わえ、楽しいです。

 

テストを兼ねた初めてのQSOは「AE8M/9」でRST599、とても満足でした。

 

 

SW-40についての私のコメント:

(A)     このQRPはトランシーバーで、VFOが組み込まれ、私の場合は7.025MHzから7.064MHzまで可変でき、そして操作性もよく気分よく運用できます。

(B)     オーディオ部にはクリスタルフィルタ(3個つき)で混信を避けるようになっています。 結構効果があります。

(C)     パワーは2ワット出ます。CW運用ですが操作中にはパワーレベルを変えられません。 40mバンド、2ワットでも、2000KMから2500KMくらい、普通のCONDXQSOできていますので、十分力のあるリグと思います。

(D)     値段も約6000円くらい、私は払いました。 少ないコストでQRPを楽しめる、優れたリグと私は思っています。  

(E)     私の場合部品が1点間違った物が入っていたと思われましたので、メールで連絡し、すぐ送ってもらい、製作中に23回メールを出しましたが、回答も早く、対応は申し分ありませんでした。

(F)      組み立ての説明書もわかりやすく、十分でした。 (ただし私の場合が英語でしたが。)

 

このSW-40は来年のフィールドデイに使おうと考えています。 アンテナも用意しないといけません。 時々シャックからオンエア―にも使っています。  同型の20mトランシーバー 「SW-20」 のキットを注文しました。 この冬の私のプロジェクトです。

 

73

 

Hiro Hayashi  VE3CGC

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

