“ GRC-109, Spy Radio, 1960s”

2008/02/02                                         日本語は下の方にあります。

 

“ GRC-109, Spy Radio, 1960s”

 

The GRC-109 radio was designed perhaps in 1950s and manufactured in 1960s.  It is a military transmitter, receiver and power supply as a set.  It has a lot of interesting histories with this radio.

 

K9FHJ, Perry, kindly gave the receiver and power supply with a bunch of crystals to go on air. It was packed in a solid wooden box he assembled when I received it in March 2004.  I was very surprised and so glad I got the great gift from Perry.  In fact I have never had any military tube type transmitter and have never experienced its operation of that kind before.  I was very much excited of course.

 

Because of my lack of experience of tube gears and poor knowledge of vacuum tube equipment, I phoned him and also talked him on the EchoLink to get the instruction of how to operate them.  Also when I switched on the power, the GRC-109 was not working, so it was even worse and I was confused of how to operate it, HI HI.  He gave me easy instruction of how to chase and find the problem over the EchoLink.  This process was a big challenge to me because the whole thing was done without seeing him but talking and listening only to fix the problem.  When I opened the box of transmitter by following his instruction, I found that one of the tubes(6AC7) was loosened and coming off from the socket due to the vibration and shock during the transportation.  After fixing the problem, our first QSO was made.  It was March 5, 2004 between K9FHJ and VE3CGC both using GRC-109.  Our exchanged report was 579 and 579 for both.

 

Since then, I opened the GRC-109 a dozen of times for checking problems and I was exposed to learn about the rig.  At present, I have spare tubes for that because of his suggestion.  To date most of the problems I have run into were tube related, and I could fix it with tubes replaced. 

 

In the Christmas, 2007, he gave me a super gift.  On December 19, 2007, I received a box from him by UPS and it was the receiver of GRC-109.  I was very excited because now I have a complete set of GRC-109.  I phoned him to say VRY TNX and from December 31 to January I, 2008, I was on the air for the Straight Key Night with the set of GRC-109.  

My comment for the GRC-109:  It is well designed and built solid.  Excellent craftsmanship and lots histories behind, very interesting radio equipment.  I love operating this fun rig.

 

I am showing the pictures of the GRC-109 in the album of this blog in Feb 2, 2008.  Please note that the transmitter has a built in a straight key.    I am going on air with the GRC-109 every once in a while for the fun and enjoyment of operation of this respectful equipment.  I am honored to have this rig and operate it.  I am so lucky, and thank you so much, Perry.

 

73.

VE3CGC Hiro

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese:

 

GRC-109 アメリカ軍用リグ」

 

20043月、ラジオの友達で私のラジオの先生 K9FHJ Perry (ペリー)から木の箱が届きました。 開けてみると、1950年代から1960年代にアメリカ軍で活躍した通信機 「GRC-109」 の送信機と電源、クリスタルが送られてきました。 このラジオは朝鮮事変、ベトナム戦争、ロシアとアメリカの冷戦時代にヨーロッパで、スパイが使い、別名 「スパイラジオ」 とも言われています。  ペリーによると、1960年代に、軍隊からの放出品で出された物を複数台、セットで買ったと言っていました。 これらのリグには実際、戦争で使われ一台、一台に歴史がしみ込んでいます。

 

送信機: 真空管  発振6AC7  高周波増幅26E6  

     クリスタル発振

     周波数: 3Mhz から 22Mhz

     パワー: 15ワット

     モード: CW

 

ところが、電源を入れ、送信しようと思いましたが、何処かがおかしく、正常に動きませんでした。 早速ペリーに電話と、エコーリンクで取り扱いの説明と、故障箇所の発見に知恵を貸してもらった結果、輸送中の振動で、発振の真空管6AC7がソケットから抜けそうになっているのを見つけました。 もとどうりに差し込み、動き出し、ペリーのGRC-109と治ったばかりの私のGRC109で初めてのQSOをし、RSTは共に、579と579でした。 初めてのQSO200435日でしたが、以来このリグを何回となく、ふたを開けて中をのぞき、真空管を取り替えたり、ねじを締めなおしたり、とてもコンパクトに組み立ててある軍用の仕様に感心したり、ときどき、オン エアーして、ラグチュ-をしたり、いつも楽しんでいます。

 

更に、20071219日、突然、箱が一つ、ペリーから送られてきました。 箱の中身は、GRC-109の受信機でした。  早速電源につなぎ、アンテナを取り付け、受信してみると、40mバンドのCWのほか、AMの短波放送が、がんがん聞こえました。 しかし、やはり1960年代の機械ですから、最新のトランシーバーと比べると、受信感度と混信防止が少し劣っているような気がし、技術の進歩を目の前で見せられました。 でも、1950年代,1960年代に設計され、作られたものですから、それなりに評価してやらないといけません。

 

20071231日から200811日まで、Straight Key Night(ストレート キー ナイト)つまり、古いラジオを持ち出して、昔の縦ふりキーでオン エアーする、毎年恒例のオン エアー パーティーにGRC-109で参加しました。 自分のリグも楽しみですが、相手がどんなリグを使っているのか、ラグチュ-も入って、一味変わったQSOを楽しみました。  次回も別なリグで参加しようと思います。

 

GRC-109の写真は200822日のこのブログのアルバムにのせてありますので、見てください。 送信機には縦ふりのキーが組み込まれています、気をつけてみてください。

 

73.

 

ひろ はやし   VE3CGC

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “ GRC-109, Spy Radio, 1960s”

  1. Unknown says:

    Mississippi radio. fm radio stations in Rhode-Island. us radio. radio in america. radio stations Mississippi radio. fm radio stations in Rhode-Island. us radio. radio in america. District-of-Columbia fm radio stations. radio fm radio stations in Virginia District-of-Columbia fm radio stations. radioLike to listen to radio? Not su radio in america Like to listen to radio? Not suus radio. List of all AM/FM radio stations radio in america us radio. List of all AM/FM radio stationsIowa radio. american radio. american radio. us radio stations. List of radio in america Iowa radio. american radio. american radio. us radio stations. List of

  2. Unknown says:

    Mississippi radio. fm radio stations in Rhode-Island. us radio. radio in america. radio stations Mississippi radio. fm radio stations in Rhode-Island. us radio. radio in america. District-of-Columbia fm radio stations. radio fm radio stations in Virginia District-of-Columbia fm radio stations. radioLike to listen to radio? Not su radio in america Like to listen to radio? Not suus radio. List of all AM/FM radio stations radio in america us radio. List of all AM/FM radio stationsIowa radio. american radio. american radio. us radio stations. List of radio in america Iowa radio. american radio. american radio. us radio stations. List of

Leave a Reply

