“The SW-20, Small Wonder Labs”

2008/03/15

“The SW-20, Small Wonder Labs”                    日本語は下の方にあります。

 

The SW-20 is a CW QRP transceiver kit I built in my 2007 to 2008 winter project.  I built the SW-40 (40m band CW QRP) in my previous winter project and it was fun to build and operate it.  This time it took me about six months for completion.  I worked on the SW-20 as follows:

 

(1)   Checking the parts received:  First thing I did, when I received the package, was that I checked all parts in the box.  I compared the parts on hand to the parts list in the manual.  Then I sorted all parts out by “registers”, “capacitors” and others such as IC, transistors and diodes etc.  I checked all registers with a volt-ohm meter I have and wrote down the value I measured on the card-box papers, about 2” x 4”, shown on the up-loaded picture in the album of this blog.

(2)   Assembly and soldering:  During my previous experience for the SW-40, I did make sure everything TWICE.  For example, when I picked up a register, I checked it with a volt-ohm meter for the right value.  I read the code on the capacitors.  I read the numbers on the transistors with a magnifying glass and polarity on some capacitors and so on.  Also I made sure TWICE for the part location on the board.  Because once it is soldered on the printed circuit board and if you have to remove it, you would ruin not only the board but also the parts.  By the way, they do not supply the parts in the package more than you need.  However, they will supply you with extra parts if you need and ask them when you ruined the parts.  I did not want to do that and I did not have to do that by checking everything twice this way.  Also the key is NOT IN HURRY and TAKE TIME making sure everything right.  That is the key.

(3)   Alignment:  When all parts are installed and soldered, then I tried to make an alignment said in the manual.  There was a problem I run into.  I connected the 12 V DC power to the SW-20 and I could not power it, so I could not make the alignment at all.  I e-mailed Dave of the Small Wonder Labs, NN1G, and asked a question for what to do and how to deal with this situation.  I got answers with e-mail.  One came from Dave and the other was from Steve Weber, KD1JV of the designer of the SW-20.  Thanks both. 

 

The first problem:  When I connected the SW-20, the D13, 1N4001 diode shorted out.  Steve suggested that remove D12, 1N5257 diode, and install a new D13, then turn R24, trim pot, counter clockwise all the way.  THIS IS WHAT STEVE E-MAILED ME: “Back off the transmitter drive control, turning it no more than 2/3ds of the way up (clockwise) and try again.  Once you have the IF transformers in the transmitter peaked up, you might be able to turn the drive up a little more, but be careful.  If you watch the SWR meter, if it suddenly goes way up, you are at the point of instability and need to back off the drive a little.  The instability will occur at just over 2 watts out.” 

I fixed the problem by following the Steve’s instruction and the power was on and 2 watts of power was generated.  So I made the adjustment to successfully set the output power to be 2 watts.

 

The second problem: My target frequency range was from 14.025 Mhz to 14.065 Mhz (CW band).  The SW-20 was tuned initially at 14.275 Mhz and I needed to bring it down to my target frequency range.  However, no information was given in the manual to bring the frequency of 14.275 Mhz down to my target frequency range.  It was too high and the manual indicated how to make the adjustment up to 14.220 Mhz.  My initial tuned frequency at 14.275 Mhz was way out.  So I decided to spend time to do some research to come up with my strategy of what to do and how to do.  First I found that the toroid core, L1 (T-37-6 requiring 23 turns) is engaged in this problem.  I have a Japanese toroid core handbook written by H. Yamamura, JF1DMQ, saying that the core seems having within 10% of the quality fluctuation allowable to meet the specification.  I figured that the core I had was made exceeding more than 10% of quality fluctuation.  Yamamura carried out some experiments to check the quality fluctuation and the 10% of the quality fluctuation seems to be typical and allowable from the practical application point of view of cores.  Then I went in the site of JR6BIJ for calculations related to toroid cores.  The calculation showed that in order to tune the coil L1 to 14.040 Mhz from 14.275 Mhz, the number of turns requires 24 from 23 specified in the manual.  Since I have never had this kind of experience and knowledge, I had to experiment on L1 coil with 24 turns for bringing the frequency down to 14.040 Mhz.  I connected the L1 coil temporarily on the board and made sure the tuned frequency by listening to my Kenwood TS-430V and I heard the oscillating CW note at about 14.060 Mhz.  So I soldered permanently with a 10pF of capacitor for the C7 as said in the manual.  The final frequency range became from 14.026 Mhz to 14.062 Mhz.  The specification on SW-20 calls for 35 Khz for the frequency range so I was happy with this. 

 

“Enclosure”  The SW-40 previously I built was installed in a little small case and I run into a problem because of that.  So this time I selected a bit large can for the enclosure.  The can contained the Guava jam produced in Ecuador and I kept it for my future project a year ago.  I like the bright blue color and the design.   It had a space for installing a frequency vernier dial which I bought about 4 years ago in a hamfest.  I am sure there is no other SW-20 contained in the same enclosue in the world and I enjoy it.

 

Some pictures of the SW-20 are shown in the blog “SW-20 building” on March 15, 2008 and I welcome any questions by e-mail if you have.

 

73

ve3cgc  Hiro     ve3cgc@hotmail.com

P.S.  VRY TNX Dave, NN1G and Steve, KD1JV for the great help and suggestions made for my particular problems.  It was fun that I worked on these hick ups, HI HI.

 

 

In Japanese:

SW-20 QRP トランシーバー」

 

SW-20は出力2ワットの20mバンドCWトランシ-バー組み立てキットで、アメリカのスモール ワンダー ラブス社が売っています。 昨年40mバンドのSW-40を組み、その経験をもとに、今年よりcondxの上昇を期待して20mバンドのトランシーバーを組んでみました。 キットを受け取ってから完成まで6ヶ月くらいかかりました。 製作途中で、問題が2つあり、下に書きましたので、このキットを組む人は参考にして下さい。 

 

受け取った部品の確認: キットは箱に入って送られてきました。 始めにすることは、まず、部品と数量の確認です。 まず私は説明書をゆっくり読みました。 そして、ダンボール箱の紙を5cm x 10cm位に切り、抵抗をテスターで計り、抵抗をこれに差し込み、オームの数値を書き、すぐわかるようにしました。 コンデンサーも同様にしましたが、測定機器は持っていませんので、コードを読み、数値を書いておき、すぐにわかるように、整理しておきました。 他の部品、IC、トランジスター、ダイオードなどは小さな箱を用意し、その中に入れ、取り出しやすいようにしました。

 

組み立てと半田ずけ: 説明書に組み立てのステップが書かれてあり、其の順に行いましたが、部品の確認とボードの部品の位置の確認を2回ずつ行いました。 抵抗はテスターで、半田ずけする前、もう一度計り再度確認しました。 この方法で前回のSW-40、今回のSW-20とも、不必要な問題が避けられました。 部品を間違ってボードに半田ずけすると、基板をいためるだけでなく、部品も壊してしまう事もあります。 販売会社のSmall Wonder Labsでは決められた部品はキットに入っていますが、余分には入っておりません。 しかし、部品の取り付けに失敗し、必要な部品がいる時は、連絡すると送ってくれます。 組み立て始めると、早く完成したくなり、つい、急いでしまいますが、時間をかけ、確認し、少しづつ着実に作り上げると間違いも避けられます。 慌てたり、焦る必要は全くありません。

 

調整: 部品が組みあがったら、出力の設定(2ワット)と送信周波数の範囲を設定します。 私の場合ここで、問題が2つ起こりました。

(問題1)  12VDCの電源をつなぎ、スイッチを入れたところ、D13, 1N4001のダイオードが壊れ、電気はどうしても入りませんでした。 手持ちの1N4001を付け直しても、同じ結果で、メールを販売会社のNN1G デイブに送り、どうしたらいいか質問しましたところ、このトランシーバーを設計したスティーブ KD1JV から、詳細に対処方法を書いたメールが届きました。 私の間違いは、送信出力 2ワットを設定する可変抵抗器R24を時計方向に回し過ぎた為、設定した出力が2ワット以上となり、D13が壊れたものとわかりました。 KD1JVの指示どおりにして、電源が入り、送信出力 2ワットに調整できました。

 

(問題2) SW-20に電気が入ると、次は自分の希望する送信周波数の範囲の設定をします。 この段階でSW-20は発振周波数をTS-430V 14.275Mhzの発振音を確認できました。 説明書には14.220Mhzまでの調整の方法しか書かれてありませんで、私の場合の14.275Mhzを私の希望周波数範囲に下げる方法はどうすればいいのかわからなく、困りました。   

配線図を見て、トロイダル コアに巻いてあるコイル L1 (T-37-6  23 巻き) がこの周波数に関係し、問題を起こしていると思い、このL1コイルの周波数を14.040Mhzに下げようと考えました。 以前秋葉原で買ってきた「定本トロイダル コア 活用百科」 山村英穂著 には生産時に約10%くらいの品質に、ばらつきが見られると書かれてありました。コアが工場で生産されるときはロットで一度に、何万個と生産されるので、私の場合はL1が決められたスペックより、外れているものと考えられました。 次に、コアに関係のある計算ができるJR6BIJ 局のサイトで、L114.040Mhz14.275Mhzより下げる巻き数を計算すると、説明書には23巻きと書かれてありましたが、24巻きにすると出来る計算結果がでました。 このような経験に出会ったことがないので、L1を基板から取り外し、巻数を24巻きにし、基板に仮止めし、電気を通し、TS-340Vで発振周波数を聞くと14.060Mhzでしたので、私のやり方が間違っていないのを確認し、説明書にある10pFのコンデンサー C7と共に半田ずけしました。 このようにして、私の場合は最終の希望周波数の範囲を14.026MHzから14.062Mhzに設定できました。 説明書のスペックではSW-20の発振周波数の範囲は35Khzで私の場合は40Khzですから、スペックの中に入っており、調整、および設定はこれで出来上がりとしました。

 

ケースに収める: 前回SW-40を組んだ時は、収めたケースのサイズが少し小さく、基板の裏側が何処かショートし、動かなくなった経験があったので、今回は少し多きめのケースを用意しました。 南米エクアドルで作られた果物「グアバ」のジャムが入っていた缶を捨てずに、ラジオに使おうと思いとってありました。 缶のデザインときれいな青色が気に入り、捨てられなかった物です。 4年前にハム フェストで探したバーニア ダイアル(500円でした)を取り付けるスペースもあり、FBです。 SW-20の写真をアルバムの2008年3月15日 “SW-20 building” にのせましたので、見てください。

 

質問があればメールをください。  73.

 

VE3CGC  Hiro       ve3cgc@hotmail.com

P.S.  著者山村英穂さんへ: 「定本トロイダル コア 活用百科」はとても重宝しています。 いい本を書いていただき有難うございます。 6対1のバランも自作し、1940年代後半から1950年代前半にかけ生産された Meissener Signal Shifter EX も、うまく動きました。 夏になったらもっと頻繁に使ってみるつもりです。

JR6BIJ 局へ: 貴局のサイトでは当方いろいろ計算に利用しています。 大変良い物をサイトに出していただき、有難うございます。 

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The SW-20, Small Wonder Labs”

  1. Unknown says:

    Wan Moshou game, to (wow power leveling) site to buy the cheapest gold coins! To (wow gold) for the best Dailian upgrade!

  2. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, advertising player and LCD displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[gjdaahefbaiddf]

Leave a Reply

