The SW-20 TEST QSO

2008/04/02

“The QSO with N0TU”

 

The SW-20 CW QRP transceiver was completed in early March.  As usual, I tried to make QSOs for testing to confirm that the Sw-20 has been completed and functioning.   It was poor condx for 20m band in mid March and I could not make a QSO at all.  I was sure that 2 watts of power generated by the SW-20 was enough for QSO because my 6BA6 and 6AQ5 QRP with 2watts of power I homebrewed has reached France about three years ago and have made QRP QSO successfully.

 

At last, on Feb. 23 at 16:11 UTC I have managed to have a QSO with N0TU, Steve, using a club call sign, W3PBC. 

 

N0TU: ICOM 703, 5watts and a CFZ at 55 ft high.  RST 599 with QSB.

 

Myself: SW-20, 2 watts and a homebrew bazooka vertical.  RST 229

 

W3 area is close to my QTH, Ontario but I copied his QTH as Monument, CO.  I thought it was my mistake for copy.  He gave me RST 229 which was understandable because of QRP of 2 watts I was running.   Then, Steve e-mailed me telling me that W3PBC is a club station call sign belonging to the “Polar Bear QRP Club” which I have never heard of before.  I clicked in the website of the club he gave me shown below.

 

http://www.polarbearqrp.org  (This is a unique QRP club and you might be interested in “CLICK IN “. ) 

 

Then, he sent me an e-mail describing his movie which can be seen at “youtube” below and it is VRY INTERESTING.  I highly recommend you visit and enjoy his trip to the Mt. Herman.

 

http://www.youtube.com/user/goathiker

 

In short, he is a QRPer in CO. belonging to the “Polar Bear QRP club” which is a group of people loving outdoor activities in winter operating QRP outdoor, enjoying cold WX.  How about that!!! 

The coldest temperature I experienced to date is about minus 60 F (approx. minus 50 degrees in C) in VE6 land many years ago and I rather stay at home when it is cold.

He takes two goats, Rooster and Peanut, with him for trips.  They help Steve carrying some camping stuff and radios.   That is a smart idea, don’t U think?  Not only that the goats will find natural foods outdoor while hiking with Steve. 

 

On Feb. 27th, at 19:35 UTC after my first QSO with him, I run across N0TU, Steve again on 14.060Mhz and I had a fun chat with him.  He was transmitting from his home running ICOM 703 with 5 watts.  I was running my old Yaesu FT-107m that was given to me for free of charge.   The FT-107m was said IT SMOKES with full power but it is a perfect rig for me for QRP up to 10 watts, NO SMOKES at all.  I have never run more than 10 watts on this rig so no trouble, Hi Hi.

 

Well, that is the story I wanted to tell about my SW-20 I built.  I show his QSL cards on the album of my blog on April 2nd, 2008.   TNX Steve, for the fun and exciting QSOs I had with a new QRP transceiver I built.

 

73.

 

ve3cgc@hotmail.com   VE3CGC  Hiro

Additional URL:

http://www.angelfire.com/planet/goatman/

P.S.  Steve went to another trip on March 22 and luckily I had a QRP QSO with him at 15:34 UTC at 14.060mhz.  This time my rig was Icom 706 at 5 watts.  Antenna was my bazooka vertical mono-bander.  TNX Steve for the interesting chat and I look forward to checking in ur future trips, Hi Hi.

 

In Japanese:

SW-20 CW QRP トランシーバーを組み立てました。」

 

スモール ワンダー ラブス社のCW 20mバンド 2ワット トランシーバーをこの冬のプロジェクトとして、組みました。 約6ヶ月くらいかかり、2月にはいってから出来上がり、テストを兼ね、オン エアーしていましたが、CONDXが悪く、なかなかQSOが出来ませんでした。  以前、6BA6+6AQ520mバンド 2ワット機でフランスの局と話したことがあり、2ワットは十分QSOできるパワーですので、焦らず、我慢してCQを出していました。

 

2 23 16:11 UTCについにN0TU局を捕まえ、始めのQSOSW-20で出来ました。 W3PBC、スティーブ でW3は私のQTHの近くのはずでしたが、相手のQTHはコロラド州と私はコピーし、始めは間違いと思っていました。 

 

W3PBC(N0TU):RST 599   リグ ICOM703  ANT 80mツエップ高さ16メータ

VE3CGC: RST 229  リグSW-20    ANT 20mバズーカ垂直アンテナ

 

相手局はCQを出していました、私がこれに答え相手局を呼び、反応があり、QRP局の私はこの時が、一番うれしく、「やった。」という気持ちでした。  QSOが終わり、しばらくすると、スティーブ、N0TUよりメールが届き、W3PBCはクラブ局のコールサインで、「ポーラー ベア QRP クラブ、日本語では白熊QRPクラブ」の会員であり、このクラブの会員は冬に外に出て、寒さにめげず、QRPでオン エアーする、のが第一の目的であるとクラブのサイトに書いてありました。 皆さんも読んでみて下さい。

 

http://www.polarbearqrp.org 

http://www.angelfire.com/planet/goatman/

 

なかなか面白い事をするクラブと思いましたが、私は冬には、やはり、家の中にいて暖かくしていたい方です。 そして、私がQSOしたときは、近くの山にハイキング(もちろん冬!!!)に出かけるときで、其の様子を動画で見られます。 

 

http://www.youtube.com/user/goathiker

 

スティーブは2匹の山羊を連れて、山に登るようで、これも面白い考えと思いました。 ルースター、とピーナッツと言う名前ですが、キャンプ道具とラジオを背に背負ってスティーブの後を歩きながら、山に登るのですが、食べられる餌があると自分で食べるそうです。 私の説明より、実際に、其の動画を見てください。 なお、この2匹の背中には、時々、ビデオカメラが背負われ、ムービーを撮るようです。 

 

QSLカードを私のブログのアルバムに200842日にのせてありますので、見てください。 質問があれば、メールでお願いします。

 

73.

 

VE3CGC  ひろ はやし

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

P.S.  322日にスティーブはまた山に登り、2匹の山羊ルースターとピーナッツに荷物を背負わせ、山からオン エアーし、私はIC706 5ワットと垂直バズーカアンテナで話すことが出来ました。 1534UTC 14.060mhz メールで前もって連絡してもらいましたので、スケジュールを組んだように、問題なくQSOでき、またCONDXもよく、あっけないほど、簡単でした。

This entry was posted in ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The SW-20 TEST QSO

  1. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[deacd

  2. Unknown says:

    Warcraft game like this to (World of Warcraft gold) and (wow gold)! Price concessions, credibility is also good!

  3. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[gjdaaifgdfaagd]

  4. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need digital signages, advertising displays, digital sign, advertisement displays and advertising players? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[accbefihf

Leave a Reply

