My Straight Keys

2008/05/14

“ My Straight Keys “                             日本語は下の方にあります。

 

I go on air on CW for the most of my QSO.  I run QRP and CW works very well with a small power such as from 1 watt to 5 watts.   Today I like to show my straight keys I use and they have some stories that I want to tell you.  I am referring to the pictures shown in the album in this blog under the “My straight Keys“ in 2008/05/14.

 

“ Key No. 1”  :  I wrote the beginner ham license exam in Calgary, Alberta in 1974. And I obtained my call sign, VE6CGC.  During the time for preparation, CW for receiving and sending for 15 WPM was required at the time.  The key No. 1 was bought from the Radio Shack in Calgary for sending CW practice.   It was cheap and I paid about three dollars for the unit.   I homebrewed the base which is lead.  I got heavy truck tire balance weights from a tire shop and melt them in a small cast iron frying pan.  The base is solid and heavy.   I have been using this key since then.

 

“ Key No. 2 “  :   This is the J-37 key and I got it from a ham operator in Windsor, Ontario.  I noticed many hams I talked on air were using the J-37 and I became interested in having one so I bought it one day.   I like it and it is a nice key.  I use the base of which material is aluminum and I got it from Bud Johnson in Calgary.  He is a SK passed away many years ago but he was a great ham operator, he was kind and treated me as his son.  I am proud of having this J-37 with the base he carefully made for me many years ago. 

 

“ Key No. 3 “   :  This is a Westclox key that was used by the Royal Canadian Army during the WW2.  Two things I like on the key.  One is the knob.  It fits my fingers well and feel good for sending CW.   The other is the U frame for the fasteners provided for wires.  It has two threads each fastener for the positive and negative wire.  One thread was damaged by someone but no problem, because I am using the second thread, working beautifully.  Three fasteners are the same size so they are interchangeable.  It is a good and practical design and I like it.  I have a plastic base for the key and my neighbor ham, VE3FBH, helped me for drilling holes and tapping the threads for fasteners, tighten the key to the base.  He has professional tools and he did a super job for me.

    

“ Key No. 4 “   :  This is a Victoria key.  It is perhaps 80 years old to nearly 100 years old.  The knife is missing.  It has a rather long handle and it performs best among the keys I have.  I am taking care of this key well.  The best key I have ever had!!

 

“ Key No. 5 “   :  This is a “Tear Drop” key, 10F/556.  On the back of the base, it says “ Grimmer Wilson”.  This key was used by the Canadian Royal Army.  It seems a popular key in Canada and I see it often in internet.  It is a rather heavy key but solid.  I store it in my radio parts shelf and I do not use it every day. 

 

“ Key No. 6 “   :  This is a homebrew brass key given as a gift by W9TFC, John.  He designed , machined and assembled two units.  He gave me one unit in February, 2008, and I have been using it everyday since.  I have made hundreds of QSOs with this key to date and am using it everyday.  It generates a nice clicking sound and I like it much. 

 

“ Key No. 7 “   :   A paper clip key.   This key was made for my QRP transmitter and the key was published in the Japanese CQ magazine in the May, 2006 issue.  I used left-over materials and materials in my junk box.  I did not spend any money to make this key.  It works well with small QRP  transmitters, such as a Yaesu FT817, the Michigan Mighty Mite, Small Wonder Labs SW-20 and SW-40, etc.  It took me less than a couple of hours to put everything together and it works well. 

 

“ Key No. 8 “   :  Another paper clip key.  I made this one the following weekend I homebrewed the Key No. 7 because the Key no. 7 worked well and I have made nice QSOs with it.   I looked around more left-over materials in my junk box and found a control knob remove from a heater.  The knob became the base and I used a small paper clip to fit the base.  I used it on the field day of 2006 to run my Yaesu FT-817 on 15m band CW.  I found this key was sufficient and works well for portable operation, somewhere outside because it is small and light and easy to carry around.  It works well also.

 

“ Key No. 9 “   :  This key was shown in the QST magazine, September, 2006 issue written by WA7WKX.   As I had many CW transmitters, I needed designated keys for them so that I did not have to look for spare keys to go on air.   I bought a hinge and a cabinet knob at a hardware store in town, spent less than 5 dollars.  The rest came from my junk box.  This key works amazingly well because I tried a half dozen of different springs and selected one that fit me well.  I am using it with my Kenwood TS-430V, 10 watt Japanese novice transceiver I brought over from Tokyo.

 

“ Key No. 10 “   :   I came across some improvements on the key no. 9 for the QST homebrew key and I had time to fool around with it.  So I made one more key.  The cost is less than $4.00 including the tax.   The improvement and modification I made on this were the wiring on the back and the counter-sink for the wooden base for the fasteners so it looks much cleaner on the back.  It has nothing to do with the performance though, but it required less parts. 

 

 

I enjoyed homebrew keys to make and use them.   Because there is NO SAME key in the world but I am the only one having it and using it, HI.   I wish I had professional tools and machines to make professional quality keys.  But I am very happy and proud of the homebrew keys I have and am using.

 

73.

hiro, ve3cgc

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese:

「縦ふり CW キー」

 

普段使っているCW縦ふり電鍵キー(自作もあり)を紹介します。 私はCWQRP出力1ワットから5ワットくらいでいつもオン エアーしています(DXは別ですが)。 キーの写真がこのブログのアルバム、「My Straight Keys/ 2008514日にのせてありますので、いっしょに見て下さい。 ここにあるキー(自作も含めて)は全て、現役のキーでQSOに使っています。

 

「キー No. 1」 ハムラジオの試験を受ける為、CW送信の練習でカナダの店で買ったもので、日本製です。 1974年頃はこのキーで300円か400円くらいで買えました。 当時、初級の試験では、CW受信、送信とも15WPM(5 x 15字 =45字 / 毎分)でした。 ベースはタイヤを売っている店で鉛のタイヤのバランスを取るおもりをもらってきて、小さなフライパンの中で溶かして作りました。 しっかりしていて、重くどっしりし、調子はいいです。

 

「キー No. 2 」 このキーは皆さんも一度は聞いた事があると思います。 「J-37」、アメリカ軍の軍用電鍵です。 アメリカの局は結構このキーを使っていて、私も欲しくなり、手に入れました。 ベースはアルミ製で、家の扉にはまっている枠の下に付けるもので、VE6のカルガリー市のバド ジョンソンさんが生きていた頃、私に作ってくれたものを、J-37のベースにしました。 大事にしています。

 

「キー No. 3 」  Westclox と刻印してあり、ウエストロックを読むのかもしれません。 カナダ陸軍で第2次世界大戦中に使っていたと思われます。 指を置く、つまみが私にぴったりで、とても使いやすい物です。 止めねじは3個同じサイズの物で、交換が利き、二つあるU字型の枠には左右にねじが切って、二つあり、一つねじ山がだめになっても、もう一つ使えるようになっていて、よく考えて作ってあります。 

 

「キー No. 4 」  このキーはとても古く、多分80年から100年前に作られたものと思われます。 VICTORIA キーと呼ばれて、ブラス(真鍮)で作られ、腕の長さが少し長く私の持っているキーの中で、一番使いやすく、気に入っています。 ナイフはすでになくなっていて、ありませんが、私が使うには支障ありません。 古いものなので、大事にしています。 時々使っています、現役のキーです。

 

「キー No. 5 」  “Tear Drop” key, 10F/556、ベースの裏には「Grimmer Wilson」と書かれてあり,2次世界大戦ではカナダの軍隊により使われていました。 カナダの局は結構まだ使っています。 ノブも少し大きめ、打った感じはかちっとした、重い感じがします。 普段はラジオ部品をしまっておく棚においてあります。

 

「キー No. 6 」 ブラス(真鍮)製で、W9TFC ジョーンからの贈り物で、本年2月に突然送られてきました。 とてもうれしかった、そしてジョーンとスケジュールを組み、このキーを使ってQSOをしました。 私は受信機はハリクラフタ-ズ S-40B、エイコ(EICO720送信機、VFOはヒースキット HG-10 それに、後半のQSOはジョーンからもらった配線図で自作した2E26真空管送信機(5W)でラグチュ-を1時間近くしました。 このキーはベースもブラスで、打つとクリ、クリと音がし、ユニークです。 キーはジョーンが図面を作り、家にある小さな旋盤(本格的ですね!!!)で2台作り、1台を私にくれました。  ジョーンもEICO720の送信機を使いました。 TNX JOHN SO MUCH.

 

「キー No. 7 」  ゼムピンでキーを作りたいと思っていました。 材料はこのキーを自作する為に、買ったものは無く、全て、私のジャンク箱にはいっていたものです。 このキーはCW20065月号にのりましたので、写真を見た方もいると思います。 小さい送信機にはこのような小さいキーは相性も良く、1台あると便利で、使い勝手もいいです。

思いついてから、材料をジャンク箱から拾い集め、全部作り上げるのに、2時間くらいで出来ました。 皆さんも自分のアイデアで、遊び感覚で一度、作って試してみてください。

 

「キー No. 8 」  上のゼムピンのキーを作った次の週末にこのキーを作りました。 ベースに使ったのは、壊れたヒーターの温度調節のダイアルのつまみです。 ピンはカナダの普通サイズの物で、小さく、でも調子はいいです。 2006年のフィールド デイにヤエスFT817と、このキーで参加し、15mバンドで楽しく遊びました。

 

「キー No. 9 」  ARRLの「QST」誌20069月号に出ていたものを参考に作りましたが、材料費はヒンジ、小さなノブを買い500円くらい使いました。 残りは私のジャンク箱から拾い集めました。 スプリングを自分に感じに合うものを見つけるのが大事です。 使った感じも良く、十分、実用になります。  写真を見ても簡単なデザインですので、安く作れるキーですから、自作してみてください。 日本から持ってきたTS-430Vにつないで使っています。 

 

「キー No. 10 」  上のQST誌のキーと同じものですが、ベースの板厚を18mmにし、ねじの取り付け方も工夫し、見た目を良くつくりました。 厚い板のベースを使うだけで、キーを打つ感じも良くなり、ちょっと進歩が感じられます。 このキーを自作する時は、ベースは厚めの木を使う方が、打つ感じを良くするのと、スプリングを選び、自分の一番感じのいいところにセットするのが、ポイントです。 

 

 

質問はメールで聞いてください。

 

VE3CGC  hiro hayashi

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio , ハム ラジオ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

