My great uncle

2008/11/23               日本語は下にあります。

“ My great uncle “  「私の叔父」

 

This month, I am writing about my uncle, MY GREAT UNCLE.   My uncle is an elder brother of my father and both, my uncle and my father, passed away many years ago.  He was self-taught for radios.  My uncle was running a radio repair and home appliance store.    His store was located at a great location facing to the main street of a small town in the northern Japan and the business was going very well.  He made a monthly trip to Tokyo where I lived to purchase his merchandise to sell at his store. 

 

One day when he came to Tokyo for his business trip, he brought me a crystal radio.  It was in a blue painted wooded box, 5 inches wide x 3 inches deep x 2 inches thick, containing a coil with two steel ball bearings for tuning stations, a crystal and the terminal for antenna and head phone.  When he gave me the radio, he demonstrated how to operate it to listen to stations.  I recall that it was poor for tuning stations and one day I opened the box for curiosity and found the simple wiring, the whole coil, the crystal in it.  I even opened the crystal in a tubular case, 1/4 inch dia. x 1 1/4 inch long.  There was a small piece of black stone and the stone needed to be rotated for the best spot for the optimal audio level.  It was fascinating to me.

 

I visited his home in the summer almost every year when I was in the elementary school.  In the store, he had a small work desk, 5 ft wide x 3 ft deep x 1 1/2 ft high, no chair because he sits in front of it for work.  On the shelf facing him on the wall, he had a signal generator and perhaps a signal tracer which I was not sure at that time. On the desk he had a voltage and ohm meter and a small vise and some small tools in the draws.   That is all he had for repairing radios.  It was before the black and white TVs came into the market in Japan and typically five tube superhet AM radios were most popular at that time. 

 

The conversations I made with him and I still remember:

(1)   He tells his customers he needs one week for radio repair but he repairs it for two or three days or less for most of time.  And the most of the repairs could be make by replacing tubes, he said.  He kept the radio repaired running for a whole day and sometimes a couple of days to make sure the radios were repaired 100% for sure.

(2)   One day I asked him why a 10 inch TV could not be run with a 18 inch picture tube.  He answered me that it did not have ENOUGH POWER.  I was sure he wanted to explain me more details why but I was a small boy with no knowledge of radio.  He simply said NO ADEQUATE POWER.   What a simple answer he had for me. 

(3)   The old tube radios were broken easily somehow and he did not forget to make a sales pitch to sell his radios to the customers.  He was an honest guy and he talked from his customer’s point of view convincing that buying a new radio would be less expensive.  Because radios were relatively expensive and every family needed it for the entertainment. 

 

Before my retirement, I made my living for doing mechanical engineering related work and not electrical, but I believe in my blood I have talent and brain for electronics in my family and relatives.  My cousin became an electrical engineer and I enjoy ham radios designing QRP and building it.

 

I am very much proud of my uncle and I will make a crystal radio some day.  The crystal radio should be my own design having better tuning. 

 

73.

hiro hayashi           ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

In Japanese:

「私の叔父」

 

叔父は大分昔に亡くなりました。 私はカナダにいて、お葬式には出られませんでした。 私の心には叔父はまだ元気に生きています。 私が小学校の頃、夏やすみには必ず訪ねました。 叔父はラジオ店を経営して、生計をたて、子供を5人も育てた立派な人です。 叔母の話では叔父は自分で独力で、ラジオを勉強したそうで、そしてラジオの修理をしたり、新しいラジオや冷蔵庫、洗濯機を売って、東北の小さな町で頑張っていました。 毎月叔父は、汽車(当時は蒸気機関車でした)に乗ってラジオを仕入れに秋葉原に出てきて、私達の家に一晩とまり、私達兄弟に沢山お土産を持ってきてくれました。 

 

ある時、叔父は私に鉱石ラジオを1台持ってきてくれ、どのように放送を聞くか実演してくれました。 鉱石ラジオには青いペンキが塗ってあり、中央に小さな窓が切ってあり、コイルを巻いた銅線が見え、コイルにそって丸いベアリングが2個あり、このベアリングの球を右、左に動かす事で、局を選べるようになっていました。 従って選局はあまりシャープではなく、混信し、でも、私はとても興味があり、満足でした。  ある時、この箱を開け、中をのぞきました。 中には、コイルから、ベアリングの球2個がポロリと出てきて、鉱石は直径1センチ、長さ3センチくらいのケースに入っていて、中を開けると、黒っぽい石が1個出てきました。 あまりに簡単なものであったので、がっかりしましたが、これが私をラジオ、無線、電気に引き込むきっかけとなりました。よくある話ですね。

 

私が中学校に入ると母は私に毎月出る「初歩のラジオ」を本屋さんから買ってくれました。 この本に書いてあった、並3、並45球スーパーAM受信機、最後に高周波1段付き6球スーパー受信機を組み立てました。 少ないお小使いやお年玉を貯金し、部品は秋葉原に行き買って組み立て、たいがい、電気を入れても一度で音が聞こえたことはなく、とても苦労した事を憶えています。 「初歩のラジオ」には配線図とその説明、部品表や実体配線図が書かれてあり、子供の私でも良くわかりました。 ラジオを組んでいると、配線図は自然に読めるようになり、わかるようになったのを覚えています。 今でも憶えていますが、この頃ゲルマニュームのダイオードが市場に出てきて、私もお小使いをはたいて、秋葉原で1個だけ買ってきました。 ラジオに使うわけではなかったのですが、鉱石ラジオの石よりとても性能がいいと本に書いてあったためです。 このダイオードは茶色の硬いプラスチックに包まれ、断面が6角形、直径は5mm、長さが3cmくらいで、両端に2cmくらいの銅線がついていました。 今日のダイオードと比べるとずいぶん大きく、重さもありました。 このダイオードをお守りのように、ずっと大事に持っていたのを憶えています。 

 

私は今、1950年代のハリクラフタ-ズ製SC-40B、真空管式通信用受信機を使って、QRPの送信機と組み合わせ、ときどきQSOしています。 SC-40Bはカナダで組まれたもので、アメリカではS-40Bといわれ、デザイン、性能も全く同じです。 いままで真空管を取り替えたり、簡単な修理は何回もしましたし、受信周波数がずれて行く為(frequency drifting)、古いコンデンサーを最近の性能のいいものに取替えて使っています。 真空管式のラジオを修理していると、叔父のことをいつも思い出し、こんな事をしてラジオを修理していたのだと懐かしく思いながらいます。 私の叔父は偉大で、私の体の中に同じ血が流れている事を、誇りに思っています。

 

 

73.

ひろ はやし

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio, amateur radio,ハム ラジオ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

