6L6 QRP Repair 「6L6真空管QRPの修理」

2010/05/01          日本語は下にあります。  ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

“ 6L6 QRP Repair “        「 6L6 真空管QRPの修理 」

 

I built the 6L6 QRP transmitter shown in the Radio Amateur’s Handbook by W. J. Kendall about 5 years ago in 2005.  In March 2010, I have repaired the GRC-109 transmitter and have gained good knowledge and experience so I tried again for repairing this 6L6 tube QRP transmitter.  I up-loaded the article of this GRC-109 repair in last month.  As I gain a bit different result of the repair on my 6L6 QRP transmitter, I up-loaded my experience on this blog to share it with you.  Some pictures can be seen in the album of this blog under “ 6L6 QRP Repair “ on May 1, 2010.  Please click the picture to enlarge it.

 

The problem:  No oscillation and no power.

 

The approach I took:  Basically I took the same approach I had on the GRC-109 repair.  That is:  (1) Looking at the transmitter front and back as well as inside and outside carefully.  (2) Checked the tubes.  (3) Measured the B+ voltage.  (4) Checked the keying system.  (5) Carried out the continuity test on the oscillation section and then the power amplifier section.  (6) Measured the voltages on the tube pins.

 

The steps:  The numbers used below are corresponding to “The approach I took” above. (1) I found nothing like burnt resisters and wires disconnected or broken etc.  (2) The two 6L6 tubes were checked by my neighbor Ham, VE3FBH, Frank with his tube tester indicated both working.  (3) The measured B+ voltage was 361 volts DC which is acceptable and appropriate voltage.   (4) I checked the key system and wiring with my analog volt and ohm meter.  It appeared fine and working.  (5) I used my analog volt and ohm meter for the continuity test and the results were fine.  (6) With B+ voltage of 361 volts, I measured the voltages on all tines of the 6L6 tube on the oscillation and power amplifier section respectively.  The voltages on measurements were fine and I found appropriate voltages.   I made notes of what I did and what I found for review and my future reference.  I recommend you do the same when you repair radio.  You may need to sit down and review what is going on to find the problem.

 

“The Steps” :  I tested the transmitter with power on and a Xtal installed.  A key was plugged in and keyed down.  I used my Kenwood TS-430V to listen to the oscillation signal.  I heard the CW note for sure but no power generated.

 

Up to this point, I could not find anything obviously wrong and suspicious for causing the trouble. What I found was that the oscillation was taken place.  That was one step closer to find the problem and repair the transmitter.  I looked at the inside the chassis carefully and came across my attention on some old capacitors used as by-pass capacitors on the oscillation section and the power amplifier section.   The capacitors used and connected to the oscillation 6L6 pins were relatively new that are ceramic capacitors.  On the other hand, the capacitors used on the power amplifier 6L6 pins were old paper capacitors.   I have done so-called “re-capping” on the old tube receiver (Hallicrafters SC-40B) and tube transmitters I have.  The re-capping is to replace old type capacitors (normally paper type capacitors) with new better temperature compensated capacitors.   So I replaced four old capacitors with new better stable capacitors.

 

“The Result” :   On the test this time, the oscillation and the power amplifier were working indicating the power of 6 watts on the SWR power meter.  The CW note sounded clean and stable.   I guess I had to use old paper type capacitors at the time of building as I did not have new capacitors HI HI.   So next time when I build transmitters I will make sure that I will line up new reliable capacitors.

 

I added a LED for the indicator of power branched out from the wire to antenna.  Please take a look at my blog on June 7th / 2007, for “ Let’s use LEDs” to figure out and how to use LEDs.

 

If you have questions, please e-mail me.

 

Hiro Hayashi,   VE3CGC

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese:

 

「 6L6 真空管QRPの修理 」

 

2005年にラジオのハンドブックにあった、6L6 真空管2本、クリスタル発振のQRP送信機を自作しました。  当時はコイルを自作することが一つのチャレンジでした。 この送信機が故障し、発振せず、パワーも出ず、死んでしまったのです。 本年3月軍用送信機GRC-109を修理し、(修理でき、うまく動いています、HI HI.)その勢いにのって、この自作送信機を修理しました。 別ないい経験と勉強になったので、このブログにのせますので、参考にして下さい。 

 

「問題」: 発振も送信もしない。

 

「修理方法とステップ」: 前回のGRC109送信機の修理と同じ考えでしました。 (1)シャーシの内側と外を良く見て、部品が焦げていたり、配線が切れたり、はずれていないかなどを注意し、異常が無い事を確認しました。  (2)二本の6L6真空管をテストし動作の確認をしました。  (3)B+の電圧をテスターで計り、361ボルトあることを確認しました。  (4)電鍵とその配線関係が作動しているかをテスターで確認しました。 (5)次に、真空管回りの導通テストをしました。 発振の6L6真空管のソケットの足(ピン)と接続されている抵抗の数値を測り、配線図にある数値があるか比べ、確認しました。 コンデンサーはショートし、パンクしていない事をテスターで確認しました。 パワーアンプの6L6真空管にも、同様にして異常が無い事を確認しました。  (6)電源を入れ、B+361ボルトをもとに、2本の6L6のソケットのピンのところの電圧を計りましたが、動作するのに十分な電圧がありました。  

 

「テスト」: 電源を入れ、クリスタル、電鍵をつなぎ、ケンウッドTS-430Vで発振音を聞き、発振はしている事を確認しました。 問題解決に、一歩近づきました。

 

もう一度、シャーシの中を良く見て、変なところは無いか、じっくり見て考えました。 そして、発振の6L6に使われているコンデンサーは新しい、温度による影響の少ないセラミック コンデンサーが使われていましたが、パワー アンプの6L6のコンデンサーは1960年から1970年代に使われたペーパー コンデンサーがバイパス コンデンサーとして使われているのに気づき、これらを新しいものに交換しました。 その結果、電気を入れて、テストすると、6ワットの出力でCWの音も良く、以前のように元気な送信機に回復しました。

 

「リキャップ Re-cap」: 私の持っている真空管式のリグは1970年代以前のもので、メンテナンスの一つとして、必ず古いコンデンサーを温度による影響の少ない、最新の新しいものと交換して使っていります。 これをRe-capとか Re-cappingといいます。 古いコンデンサーを使ったのは、多分、組み立てる時、新しい信頼できる部品が、手元に無かったものと思います。 古い部品は良く注意しないといけないとつくづく思いました。

 

今回は、LED発光ダイオードを1つ付け、電鍵を押し、パワーが出たときに発光するように、インディケーターを取り付けようと計画していました。 取り付け方や抵抗値の計算については、私のブログの200767日 「LED発光ダイオードを使ってみよう」を参照してください。  このブログのアルバム “ 6L6 QRP Repair “ 201051日に写真が載せてあり、参考に見て下さい。 写真をクリックすると大きくなります。

 

質問があればメールしてください。      73.

 

はやし ひろ VE3CGC

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio , ハム ラジオ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

