The Old Transistor Radio 古いトランジスターラジオ

2010/09/07                     日本語は下にあります。   ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

“ The old transistor radios I have.”       「古いトランジスターラジオ」

 

I have three old transistor radios manufactured in 1960s and 1970s described below.  I want to develop my skills to repair transistor radios and solid state ham equipment.  I will continue to exercise to learn and develop my skills for repairing solid state equipment in the future.  I up-loaded some pictures of those radios in the album of this blog under “Transistor radios” on 09/07/2010.   To enlarge the picture, please click it.  

 

 

(1)  The Ross transistor radio:   The front panel says “Hi-Fi, Nine transistor, Magnifique” and “All transistor Portable Radio”.

Freq. Range:  540-1600Kc

Battery:       6V, 4pcs of UM-2

Serial No.     3100556

Make:         Made in Japan (showing no particular manufacture’s name)

The problem:  It did not work when the switch was on.   

What I did:   I installed fresh batteries, and then I heard some noise.  I sprayed some liquid lubricant on the audio volume control as I figured it was dried out due to the age.  I left it for a day or so.  Then I switched on.  It did work OK this time.  There is nothing else wrong on the radio.  I am listening to it a couple of times a week at present.  I looked up the websites to find more information on the Ross transistor Radio.  The Ross electronics corp. in Chicago, IL, imported and sold in the north America in 1960s and 1970s. 

 

 

(2)  The Prosonic Multi Band radio, model PQR-134:

Freq.    FM, AM, SW

Battery;  6V, UM1x4pcs,  also 120V@60Hz/4w

The problem:  It did not work when the switch was on but I heard some stations intermittently.  The antenna rod was broken.

What I did:  I checked the audio volume control carefully and it worked but  intermittently because of the age.  I sprayed some liquid lubricant on the audio volume control and left it for a day.  Then it recovered and worked well.   I installed a piece of wire for the antenna.  I opened the inside to find more problem if any.  Luckily nothing else was found for wrong.  I also found no stamping as well as no inspection sticker for the name of the manufacture and the country.   This radio was imported  by a Canadian company, called as “Pro Quality International Limited, of 130 Denison Street, Markham, Ontario, Canada”.  It has been CSA approved for the audio video equipment, MJ785788.   I found not much information for this radio in the internet, perhaps it was manufactured in 1990s.

 

 

(3)  The Sony FM/SW/MW TFM-110WB:   This radio was a gift from my uncle and aunty when I immigrated to Canada in 1967. 

Radio: 12 transistors, 5 diodes, 2 thermistors, superheterodyne.

Freq  :  FM 86.5-108Mc, MW 530-1605Kc, SW 3.9-12Mc

Power out:  300mW

Battery:  4.5V 1.5Vx3,  external power @120VAC

Dimension:  7 1/8(W)in x 5 3/16(H)in x 1 7/8(D)in

Weight:  2lbs2oz

Make:  Sony Tokyo, Japan.

The problem: It does switch on generating some noise but nothing else.

What I did:  I clicked in the websites to get some information and found it was not recommended to open it for repair for a beginner.  It requires some skills and experience for repair.  So I decided not to touch it till I become to qualify working on it.  I used this radio to listen to the SW program from Tokyo, Japan back in 1970s.  Now the internet does give me almost everything such as reading the Japanese news, TV programs to watch etc. that were not available years ago. 

 

73.

 

Hiro Hayashi,  ve3cgc@hotmail.com

 

 

In Japanese:

「古いトランジスターラジオ」

 

現在、手元に古いトランジスターラジオが3台あります。  トランジスターのハムラジオトランシーバーや携帯ラジオを修理し、遊ぶのに取ってあったものです。 写真をこのブログのアルバム、2010907日、「transistor radio」にのせてあります。 写真をクリックすると大きくなります。 ラジオ自身のスペック内容は上の英語のところにあるので、見てください。

 

 

(1)ROSS トランジスターラジオ: このラジオはもらってきた時は、スイッチを入れても音が出ませんでした。  中を開け、乾電池を新しいものにしてみると、一応作動しました。  ボリュームを回すと、がりがり音がしたので、油(軽い,さらさらしたラジオ用のもの)を吹き付け、1日そのままにし、翌日スイッチをいれて、正常に動いているのを確認しました。  1970年代のもので、ボリュームも乾ききっていて、回すとガリガリ音がしたものと思います。 

 

 

(2)PROSONIC PQR-134: このラジオはFM,MW,SW 3バンドが聞けるものでローカルのハムの方から頂きました。 アンテナのロッドも折れていて、修理する意欲もそがれましたが、スイッチを入れると、AMのローカル局が聞こえ、ボリュームを動かすと、とぎれとぎれでうまく聞こえませんでした。  油をボリュームに吹き付け、1日そのままで置き、次の日、動作確認をすると、音声も良く聞こえました。  長い間、使っていなかった様子で、油が切れ、ボリュームも乾きていたものと思われます。 このラジオは生産国が外にも中にも、どこにも記されておらず、カナダの販売した会社の名前と住所が書いたステッカーが貼ってありました。 たぶん1990年代で、比較的新しいものと考えています。 

 

 

(3)SONY FM/SW/MW TFM-110WB:  このラジオは私が1967年にカナダに来るとき、叔父と叔母よりいただいたもので、大事に取ってあります。  スイッチを入れてもノイズ以外、全く音はだしませんが、音声の増幅部は作動しており、選局、同調部におかしいところがあると思います。  ウェブサイトで同型機の情報と、修理の仕方を調べましたが、この型は組み立てが難しく、修理経験のある方以外は触らないほうがいいと書かれてあり、手を付けておりません。  そのうち、私の腕が上がり、修理が出来るようになるまで、そのままにしておくつもりです。

 

その他、完全に壊れて修理不能(私では修理できない HI)のトランジスターラジオやテレビを5 台か6台くらい、バラして、部品取り(特にバリコンなどは手に入りにくく、うれしいです。HI HI)にした記憶があります。 ラジオなどをバラバラにするのも結構楽しいです。

73.

 

はやし ひろ  VE3CGC

ve3cgc@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in ham radio , ハム ラジオ. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

